Asymmetrical Breasts And A Muffin Top

 
 
I have had both an Abdominoplasty and a Breast Reduction/Lift.
 
I wanted a breast reduction since I was seventeen years old. I finally had them fixed when I was thirty-eight. I always felt my breasts were too large and just never felt comfortable with them. It made me look much heavier than I actually was and there was nothing I could do to feel otherwise.
 
I met my husband to be when I was just shy of turning twenty-three. I voiced my desires very early on in the relationship and he was always against me having them done. He had an ex-girlfriend who had a reduction and had terrible scars from it and was scared that would happen to me. As time went on and I realized that we were getting serious and eventually got married, I decided to put that thought on hold until I had my kids.
 
About a year after I had my second child by C-Section, I was diagnosed with an Umbilical Hernia.  “An Umbilical Hernia occurs when part of the intestine protrudes through an opening in the abdominal muscles. Umbilical Hernias are most common in infants but they can affect adults as well.”
~Mayo Clinic
 
Even though I was never really overweight, I definitely had that muffin top after my C-Section and was uncomfortable seeing myself naked. I then went to my general surgeon to discuss my options for fixing my hernia and he mentioned he could fix my hernia and I would be happy. He said I would be much happier if he did it in conjunction with a plastic surgeon who would also fix my Diastasis (separation of the abdominal muscles usually after pregnancy). Mine was pretty wide.  At the right angle I could fit four fingers wide into my abdomen. Since I was unhappy with that muffin top and felt I could never wear anything on the tighter side due to my stomach hanging out and realized that no matter how much weight I lost, I would never lose that flap of skin, I decided to do a consult with the plastic surgeon. After that consult, I decided to go ahead with the Abdominoplasty in conjunction with the general surgeon to fix my hernia. I am so happy with the results three years later. I can wear tight shirts and not feel self-conscious about that pouch hanging out.
 
                                                                                         
 
About a year and a half after I had the Abdominoplasty, I thought it was time to address my breasts. As I said earlier, my husband was not for me fixing them and he still wasn’t totally into me having the procedure. After having two kids, not only were my breasts large but they were also asymmetric. I decided to go for it anyway and am so incredibly happy with the results. My husband, in the end, supported my decision and is also happy with the results. They are now symmetric and I am very comfortable with them. I have no problems walking around my room without a shirt on and can wear a tighter fitting shirt without feeling like I have irregular boobs and half my stomach falling out. These two procedures are definitely some of the best things I have done for myself.
 
***Editors Note: Always check to see if the physician you are using or considering is Board Certified and talk to some of the other patients about their experiences. Research carefully and thoroughly.
 
Submit your story here: http://arkstories.com/bodyimageblog.html

Copyright Ark Stories 2011

Leave a Reply

