Big Gurl Diva

I am pleased to share my story, after reading the home page of the blog I was even more inspired and enthused to share my story!  Almost like the introduction was speaking directly to me.
 
My name is Tamara Jackson and I currently reside in Chicago. I am a literary artist who has independently founded and started my own production company (which is still in development stage). I’ve been writing since 2007.  In 2009, I had the opportunity to perform (the) spoken word with Black Poet Ventures and landed a role in a hit stage play Black Poets Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow
A single poem of mine also landed me the opportunity to perform in the nationally celebrated MLK day event and event/celebration hosted by NAACP chairman of Phoenix Az. This is my 4th year in the literary industry and I plan to become a well-known author and speaker! 
 
Since I was eight years old I have been dealing with weight issues. I was teased a lot.
 
After five kids, my teeth are decaying and missing due to lack of nutrients and calcium. I was devastated at my appearance so much that I wouldn’t speak in public or with many of my family members because I was so ashamed. I use to be so down on myself. My teeth are messed up and on top of that I’m a big girl.
 
I missed out on many opportunities in life because of this but somewhere, somehow, I began to look at myself differently (maybe it was because of the therapy I’ve  had).  My self esteem has boosted so much; I no longer allow my weight to be an issue for me.
 
I am currently known as the Big Gurl Diva and mind you, I flaunt it with no problem, even the missing teeth. I accepted the fact that it is what it is and right now I can’t do anything about it. It does nothing to my confidence level.
 
I was on the Judge Mathis show a couple of weeks ago and the defendant caught me off-guard and told the judge to have me to smile and with no hesitation I smiled for the cameras. The peers in the courtroom and all.  There is no longer any shame in my game. I recently published a book entitled Let Sheedom Ring (Women With Voices) which is my tribute to womanhood, a motivational piece I have written expressing my views in my own words, with words of encouragement and more, for the many women who suffer from low self esteem. I was one of them but while writing the book, even I was  inspired. The book was therapeutic for me! Many of us feel we can’t be loved how we want and deserve to be but I would like to share what God gave me:
 
A woman’s touch by Tammy J

 
Looking deep within inside of me, to find true happiness and where I wanna be;
no diamonds and no money can make me feel, this feeling I’ve found that’s all so real;
Although all of the above would be so nice, but don’t allow yourself to be bought please take my advice;
We must first find that happiness from within ourselves, before we can seek it in anyone else;
Yes we all come in various shapes, sizes and colors, but we’re all still the same in one way or another;
We allow our feelings too much to be dictated, we fall carelessly in love to only be manipulated;
Is it real or is it just a dream, that we as women need to have more self esteem;
I’ve often heard that its a man’s world and in it is so much, but what would it be without a woman’s touch?
 
You can find this piece and others inside my book Let Sheedom Ring, overweight, underweight, big, small, toothless and all, we’ve got to come to grips with who we are and get our shine on!
Thank you for allowing me to share my story and much love and many blessings to those that are struggling and who have overcome……..
 
I am currently in a contest for Bougie magazine. I want to be able to express to the world that no matter who you are, where you’re from, and what you look like, there are no boundaries to your success (physically, health, and otherwise).
 
You may find me by visiting either of the sites below:

Copyright Ark Stories 2011

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tamara Thebigurldiva Jackson
    Jun 25, 2011 @ 03:43:00

    way to go….

    Reply

  2. John862
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 17:04:18

    Very nice site!

    Reply

  3. gioperation
    Oct 20, 2011 @ 08:38:42

    nice write TJ… ryan

    Reply

Leave a Reply

